Saturday, September 12, 2015

Nissan Turns Over A New Leaf



Nissan announced the specifications for the new improved Leaf plug in car.  Jay Cole at InsideEvs wrote an excellent article on the new Leaf that is linked below.


The Green Machine’s take on the New Leaf is that it will continue to be the best seller among plug in cars but it will not reach the original stated goal of 150,000 vehicles a year in US sales.  Remember Dr. Chu loaned Nissan a bunch for the battery and car assembly factories in Smyrna Tennessee with the stated goal of 150,000 vehicles a year and 200,000 battery packs a year. 


Rather than dwell on Chu Chu’s incompetence let’s focus on the positive.  Nissan does have a good car in the Leaf and having a range of over 100 miles makes it a pretty practical daily vehicle.  The cost is reasonable and Nissan is probably losing some money each car it sells.  I took a look at the cost of buying a 2013 used Leaf here in the Bay Area.  One in excellent condition with less than 20,000 miles can be bought for under $10,000.  When my old C280 dies I may actually buy a used Leaf.

Oh Bummer said we would have a million EVs on the road by the end of 2015.  Well he was wrong.  He listened to Chu back in 2011.  Actually Oh Bummer was wrong on just about everything he touched or funded except keeping the auto companies alive.


We will have approximately 400,000 EVs on road of which 1,700 were Fiskers and 117 were CODA’s.  Man I sure mocked those two fake companies in many blogs.  The person who Trump would call more stupid than Chu is Thomas Friedman who did not want Oh Bummer to save the auto companies and who thought Coda, Fisker, and Better Place would rule the flat world.  Here is my blog where I tell Tommy Boy he ain’t so smart.


In summary the EV story is that it serves a small niche market, the batteries are really not getting cheaper but are getting to be longer lived enduring many more charge discharge cycles than first predicted. This means lower cost of ownership which is very positive.


Interestingly Nissan is the Hebrew First Month.  Passover is the 15 day of Nissan. It is always celebrated in the spring.  Maybe the Nissan Leaf is actually the beginning of spring for more EV sales.  The Hebrew calendar is somewhat strange.  Nissan is the first month but New Year’s Day is not celebrated in Nissan.  Rosh Hashanah is the first day of Tishrei (Tish Ray) which is the seventh month.  Maybe Nissan can launch the Tish Ray as a performance electric Z car to compete with Sting Ray.   Happy New Year for 5776 and may all your driving whether electric, gasoline, diesel, CNG, or pedal be safe.

6 comments:

  1. Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete